top of page

11/5/2021

This week, our goal was to edit a new paper focusing on King George and review the changes made on this upcoming journal's papers. I completed the changes paper before Monday but was unable to finish King George because of other homework. We were also asked to make specific edits to the Pandemic Paper based on our suggestions from last week.

Unfortunately, outside circumstances prevent Dr. Farless, Trish, and I from meeting on a group call again this past week. However, Trish and I agreed that it would be beneficial to meet on our to view our own edits. In this meeting, Trish and I both admitted that we struggled to understand the Florida Conference of Historians' journal citation preferences For example: did the journal approve of Ibid. in footnotes? Did the journal wish for the shortened author, page number citation once a work was referenced? It was comforting to know that I was not alone in having these questions, and we forwarded these questions to Dr. Farless after the meeting. She responded, saying we would review these questions in our next meeting, and that she appreciated our taking the initiative to meet on our own. I also took photos of our meeting for the presentation. I have realized that my laptop does not allow screenshots on zoom (it's some screen sharing function I need to figure out how to enable), so my titled phone camera must suffice for now.


In our meeting, we also discussed further edits on the Pandemic Paper we have been working on. Last week, Dr. Farless had asked us to make specific recommendations to improve the paper. While neither of us had made extensive progress on this project, we appreciated hearing another intern's thoughts.

Finally, I signed up for my presentation this week. I will be presenting at 10:00 am at the University of Central Florida's Fall Hands-On History Internship on December 3rd. I am very nervous about this presentation and know that I will need to start working on this as soon as possible to feel prepared.

My goals this upcoming week are to finish the Pandemic paper and King George paper as soon as possible. As final's bein, my workload increases. However, I feel more and more comfortable with my current editing process. It has evolved to suit the specificities of Dr. Farlesss's needs, but I have seen my efficiency in editing increase. For example, I now recognize that I must put more effort into citation accuracy.

I know that my methods and time management skills are going to be severely tested in the coming week. Already, I recognize how my workload increasing has prevented me from completing some internship tasks. I only expect it to get harder, but feel well prepared with my editing system. I am pretty disappointed in myself for not completing the King George paper, but also feel it was a well-learned prioritization lesson that will only help me improve.


Recent Posts

See All

12/3-ish/2021

This is the final post for my internship with the Florida Conference of Historians. I am sad that this internship is coming to end because it has been so much fun, but I already know how much it will

11/19/2021

This week, the meeting with Dr. Farless was rescheduled to Friday. This was welcome because it gave me more time to work on my edits for the 2020 journal edits that Dr. Farless asked Trish and me to r

11/12/2021

This week I met with Dr. Farless, began my King George edits, and signed up to help edit more miscellaneous papers Dr. Farless needs help with as her own workload increases with finals. The meeting wi

bottom of page