top of page

11/12/2021

This week I met with Dr. Farless, began my King George edits, and signed up to help edit more miscellaneous papers Dr. Farless needs help with as her own workload increases with finals.

The meeting with Dr. Farless on Monday was very productive. First, we went over the first 2020 paper that Trish and I reviewed on our last week. This was important because we discussed the further improvements the writer will need to make before publication. I found this an interesting process because it was the first example of a fully edited paper I had seen. It reassured me a bit that I am doing the edits correctly while helping me reaffirm that, as I continue to edit more papers, I should focus more on ensuring correct citations.

Next, we reviewed or Victoria papers. We reviewed this one a bit differently than in the past. Dr. Farless took control, showing us her edits and then having us confirm or add based on her comments. I really liked this process because it let us complete the review process much more efficiently.

We also discussed organizing a meeting with one of the writers to meet over zoom. We all agreed that discussing some of the larger issues verbally could be beneficial, especially so we could offer resources for some of the repeated corrections. Dr. Farless emailed the author this week to arrange a meeting sometime this month. I am a little nervous to meet the writer and discuss the changes over zoom, but I know it's what is needed to make the paper the best it can be, which is the most important thing.

My King George edits are coming along, although not as quickly as I would have liked. It is a long paper, but I plan on getting it done by Sunday before the meeting. I’m going to continue trying to emulate the way I saw the citations on the 2020 paper we edited as well, so I anticipate it will take me a bit longer than the other papers in the past.

The past few weeks, Trish and I have sent some questions to Dr. Farless to ask the director of the Florida Conference of Historians. I am hoping that these are answered next week to help finish up the final edits to these upcoming papers.

Speaking of upcoming papers, Dr. Farless has asked Trish and me to help edit the previous crop of papers for the 2020 journal. This will hopefully start next week.

Recent Posts

See All

12/3-ish/2021

This is the final post for my internship with the Florida Conference of Historians. I am sad that this internship is coming to end because it has been so much fun, but I already know how much it will

11/19/2021

This week, the meeting with Dr. Farless was rescheduled to Friday. This was welcome because it gave me more time to work on my edits for the 2020 journal edits that Dr. Farless asked Trish and me to r

bottom of page